Huge day lifts Ole Miss to Lamkin San Diego Classic Title
Ole Miss won their fourth tournament of the season <br>(Ole Miss Athletics Photo)
Ole Miss won their fourth tournament of the season
(Ole Miss Athletics Photo)

SAN DIEGO, CA (March 14, 2017) -- Apparently Ole Miss didn't like that they had dropped out of the most recent Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll. Trailing by five-strokes at the start of Tuesday's Lamkin San Diego Classic final round Ole Miss put together a remarkable 15-under final day to finish 16-under and win their fourth tournament of the year by 14 shots.

"I'm so proud of this group for battling through some adversity to end their day yesterday and come out firing on all cylinders from the start today," said Ole Miss head coach Chris Malloy. "To do what they did against a very quality field was impressive to say the least."

Teeing it up at San Diego Country Club the Rebels left 2-under runner-ups North Carolina, Middle Tennessee State and 36-hole leading No. 17 Texas in the dust. New Mexico and No. 23 San Diego State were even further back at even-par in a tie for fifth.

During the final round four Ole Miss golfers carded sub-70 rounds to spur on the team wide surge. The leading Rebel on Wednesday was first-time medalist winner Ben Wolcott. In the final round, the senior turned in a 5-under 67 to post 9-under and take home the title.

"I'm so happy for Ben to get a win under his belt," said Malloy. "He has worked so hard and has been doing the right things for a long time now. Everything is really starting to come together for him and I am excited to see what's in store. Winning is contagious and this team is continuing to build on a very special season."

Wolcott bogeyed the opening hole but only dropped one more shot on his way to a seven birdie round. The seven birdies included two on each of the closing two holes.

The rest of final round sub-70 scores for Ole Miss came from Noah West (T7; -4), Braden Thornberry (T16; -2) and Josh Seiple (T18; -1).

Behind Wolcott in the individual standings came Gavin Hall (Texas), Scottie Scheffler (Texas) and Blake Abercrombie (San Diego State) at 6-under in second place while Hidetoshi Yoshihara (UCLA) and Eduardo Carrete (St. Mary's) shared fifth at 5-under.

-Ole Miss Athletics contributed to this story

Results For Lamkin San Diego Classic
1TNBen WolcottDickson, TN60070-70-67=207
T2NYGavin HallPittsford, NY40071-70-69=210
T2TXScottie SchefflerDallas, TX40071-70-69=210
T2CABlake AbercrombieRocklin, CA40067-73-70=210
T5CAHidetoshi YoshiharaIrvine, CA30069-73-69=211

View full results for Lamkin San Diego Classic

ABOUT THE San Diego Classic

Collegiate event hosted by San Diego State and played at their home course, San Diego Country Club. Team (best four scores of five players each day) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube